In the first quarter of the Detroit Lions’ loss to the Los Angeles Rams, we saw one of those moments where coaching instincts clashed with the fine print of the NFL rulebook. After the Rams completed a 23-yard pass that set them up deep in the red zone, Lions head coach Dan Campbell tossed his challenge flag-only to learn the hard way that he was challenging something that, by rule, couldn’t be challenged.
Let’s break this down.
The play in question saw Rams tight end Colby Parkinson haul in a pass and get marked down at the Lions’ 3-yard line. But on replay, it was pretty clear: Parkinson’s knee touched down just inside the 5, and the ball looked to be around the 4-yard line when that happened. So, Campbell wanted to challenge the spot.
The problem? NFL rules only allow challenges on ball placement in two very specific situations: when it’s related to a first down or a touchdown.
That’s it. If a player is short of the sticks or trying to break the plane, coaches can throw the red flag.
But if it’s just a matter of whether the ball should be at the 3 or the 4, there’s no recourse. That’s not reviewable.
So when Campbell challenged the spot, the officials had no choice but to deny the review and charge the Lions a timeout. As the referee explained over the mic: “The spot of the previous play is not reviewable. Detroit will be charged their first timeout.”
Campbell confirmed postgame that he was indeed trying to get the ball marked back closer to the 5-yard line, where Parkinson was actually down. But because Parkinson had already picked up the first down and wasn’t close to scoring, it didn’t qualify under the league’s narrow challenge rules.
Here’s where it gets even more interesting.
Despite the failed challenge and the lost timeout, the spot did get corrected-just not because of Campbell’s flag. Thanks to replay assistance from New York, the officials adjusted the ball placement on their own, moving it from the 3-yard line back to the 4 before the Rams’ next snap.
So technically, the Lions got what they wanted. The ball was moved back to a more accurate spot. But they still paid the price in the form of a burned timeout.
As Campbell put it after the game, “I won the challenge, but I lost my timeout.”
It’s a perfect example of how the NFL’s challenge system can sometimes feel like a maze of technicalities. Coaches have to not only see the play clearly in real time but also know exactly what the rulebook allows them to challenge.
In this case, Campbell’s instincts were right-the spot was off-but the rules weren’t on his side. And while the league’s central replay hub ultimately fixed the mistake, the Lions still paid for trying to do it the old-fashioned way.
It’s a quirky moment that won’t show up in the box score, but it’s one that perfectly illustrates the razor-thin margins coaches operate within-and how sometimes, even when you’re right, the rulebook says you’re wrong.
